Cultural Facilities Corporation

Page content:

The Cultural Facilities Corporation is an ACT Government statutory authority established under the Cultural Facilities Corporation ACT (1997), to manage the following significant cultural venues in Canberra:

To be a cultural leader in the ACT community and region.

We will enrich the cultural life of people in the ACT and region, by managing our facilities and delivering programs in a creative, professional and business-like manner.

The CFC Governance

Congratulations to the winners of the Don Aitkin Award

The Don Aitkin Award is named in honour of former long-term Chairman of the Cultural Facilities Corporation, Professor Don Aitkin AO.
The award was established in 2012 and has since been made annually to individual members of staff, or volunteers, who have made an outstanding contribution to the organisation.

Congratulations to all our winners, whose names and award citations are set out below.

2016 Don Aitkin Award

Jennifer Elton
For her outstanding work in professional collection management practice at ACT Historic Places, including the introduction of important new conservation techniques resulting from insights gained on her Churchill Fellowship program, and for supporting and guiding colleagues in their work to safeguard the collections.

Rowan Henderson
For her outstanding professionalism and positive contribution to CMAG’s social history exhibition program, and for raising the profile of CMAG within the wider museum sector, both in Australia and overseas.

Neil McRitchie
For his outstanding work in providing building services to the Canberra Theatre Centre, ensuring its ongoing viability as a ‘fit for purpose’ venue, including successfully integrating compliance with theatre practice, implementing major capital works projects, and continued commitment to excellent stakeholder engagement.

2015 Don Aitkin Award

Dorothy and Ben Bairstow
For their outstanding work as National Trust of Australia volunteer guides at Lanyon, and for their long term contribution and the inspiration and enthusiasm they nurture in fellow guides, staff and visitors.

Wendy Batchelor
For her outstanding work in providing a high level of support in all facets of operation at the Canberra Theatre Centre, as well as her dedication to the wider community, particularly through the Music at Midday and the Social Capital programs.

Jody Turner
For her outstanding contribution as Finance Officer, providing the highest level of customer service, professionalism and collaboration to Finance team members, the wider organisation, and external clients.

Danyka Van Buuren
For her outstanding dedication, professionalism and commitment as CMAG Front of House Manager, providing innovative and supportive leadership and ensuring her team is skilled, confident and highly regarded..

2014 Don Aitkin Award

Trudy Collins
For her outstanding work in supporting staff throughout the Cultural Facilities Corporation by providing high level advice on HR, IR and related matters.

Elysia Fisher
For her outstanding work in providing support to, and ensuring cohesion amongst, the whole team at the Canberra Theatre Centre.

Dale Middleby
For her outstanding contribution to ACT Museums and Galleries for over 30 years, and for the support and mentoring she provides to members of the curatorial team.

Peter Welch
For his outstanding dedication and professionalism in the delivery of guiding and education programs at the ACT Historic Places.

2013 Don Aitkin Award

Kate Gardiner
For her outstanding work in developing, delivering and supporting ACT Museums and Galleries education and community programs.

Gill Hugonnet
For her outstanding  work in developing and delivering theatre programming, while also supporting theatre community outreach, access and education programs.

Maria Wallace

For her outstanding work in providing executive support, assisting the organisation in many different roles, and creating a positive and harmonious work environment.

D’Arcy Wentworth
For his outstanding contribution to Lanyon as a volunteer, especially through his work on conserving and cleaning collection items.

2012 Don Aitkin Award

Sophie Chessell
For her inspirational leadership of a high-performing team, in the delivery of ACT Museums and Galleries’ community and education programs

Sally Stratton
For her outstanding commitment over 20 years to improving the quality of the Lanyon experience, both as a volunteer and a member of staff

Tony Martin

For his selfless dedication to the Canberra Theatre Centre and, in particular, his efforts to develop an education program


Annual Report 2015–2016

Annual Report 2014-2015

Review of the ACT Arts Policy Framework

Annual Report 2013-2014 

ACT Public Service Cultural Facilities Corporation Enterprise Agreement 2013-2017